Which Union Territory was created last?

Q.  Which UT was created last?
- Published on 10 Mar 17

a. Lakshadweep
b. Chandigarh
c. Delhi
d. Puducherry

ANSWER: Chandigarh
  • At present, there are twenty-nine states, 7 Union Territories (UTs) and no acquired territories.

  • The union territories are those areas which are under the direct control and administration of the Central Government.

  • Hence, they are also known as ‘Centrally Administered Territories’.

  • In this way, existence of these territories constitutes a conspicuous departure from federalism in India; the Government of India is plainly unitary in so far as the relationship between New Delhi and these Central enclaves is concerned.

  • Creation of UTs -

  • During the British Rule, certain areas were constituted as ‘scheduled districts’ in 1874.

  • Later, they came to be known as ‘chief commissioner’s provinces’.

  • After independence, they were placed in the category of Part ‘C’ and Part ‘D’ states.

  • In 1956, they were constituted as the ‘Union Territories’ by the 7th Constitutional Amendment Act (1956) and the States Re-organisation Act (1956).

  • Gradually, some of these Union Territories have been made states.

  • Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa, which are states today were once Union Territories.

  • The territories that were acquired from the Portuguese (Goa, Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli) and the French (Puducherry) were constituted as the Union Territories.

  • 7 UTs are (year of creation) -

    1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands - 1956.

    2. Delhi - 1956.

    3. Lakshadweep - 1956.

    4. Dadraand Nagar Haveli - 1961.

    5. Daman and Diu - 1962.

    6. Puducherry - 1962.

    7. Chandigarh - 1966.

  • Till 1973, Lakshadweep was known by the name of Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands.

  • In 1992, Delhi was re-designated as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

  • Till 2006, Puducherry was known as Pondicherry.

  • The Union Territories have been created for various reasons like -

    1. Political and administrative consideration - Delhi and Chandigarh.

    2. Cultural distinctiveness - Puducherry, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu.

    3. Strategic importance - Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

    4. Special treatment and care of the backward and tribal people - Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura and Arunachal Pradesh (These later became states).

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)