Andy Murray, Tennis - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Who has won the ITF Hong Kong F4 Futures, the first singles trophy of 2016?

a. Mahesh Bhupathi
b. Leander Paes
c. Yuki Bhambri
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Yuki Bhambri

Indian tennis player Yuki Bhambri on 25th Dec 2016 won the title of USD 10,000 ITF Hong Kong F4 Futures.

It was the first singles trophy of the season & 11th title on the ITF Pro Circuit.

India’s third seed defeated tournament’s number 2, Shintaro Imai of Japan 6-4,7-5.

With the win, the world number 534 takes away USD1440 in prize money along with 18 ATP ranking points.

Cheng-Peng Hsieh of Taipei and Pak Long Yeung from Hong Kong defeated Hong Kong’s Karan

Rastogi and Jack Wong to win the doubles title 5-7, 6-3, 10-4.

Bhambri is an Indian professional tennis player and former Junior No. 1.

A winner of the 2009 Australian Open Junior Championship, he is the first Indian to seal victory in the junior Australian Open Title.

He is also the 4th Indian to ever capture a junior singles Grand Slam championship title.

Know More About ITF

  • ITF Men's Circuit is a series of professional tennis tournaments held internationally.
  • Organised by - International Tennis Federation.
  • The 2016 ITF Men's Circuit is a 2016 edition of the second tier tour for men's professional tennis.
  • Award money ranges from USD 10,000 to 25,000.

2)   Which largest World Tour event will be held in India for the first time?

Answer  Explanation 


India is all set to host its first ever ITTF World Tour event here from February 16-19, 2017. The USD 120000 tournament also the biggest in terms of prize money outside the World Championships bracket.

India last hosted an International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) event of this stature before the 2010 Commonwealth Games here that offered USD 100, 000 prize money.

Back in 2010, the India Open was part of the ITTF Pro Tour which made way for the World Tour, starting from 2012.

The 2017 World Tour travels to only 12 countries excluding the Grand Finals.

India is part of the six regular World Tour events on the calendar while the other six fall in the platinum category.

3)   Who became the first women president of the All India Tennis Association?

a. Sunita Mahajan
b. Padma Mahajan
c. Sonali Mahajan
d. Praveen Mahajan
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Praveen Mahajan

Senior civil servant Praveen Mahajan on Dec 1 became the first woman President of the All India Tennis Association. She replaced veteran administrator Anil Khanna who was forced to quit by the Sports Ministry.

AITA appointed former Indian Revenue Services officer Mahajan after its Executive Committee chose her unanimously for the post till the election is conducted.

Mahajan was also the first woman chief of the Central Board of Excise and Customs/CBEC. CBEC is the apex policy deciding body for indirect taxes.

Currently, she holds the post of administrative member of the Central Administrative Tribunal.

The Ministry asked Khanna to resign, because his election as President in 2012 was against the Sports Code that bars an official from re-election after two consecutive terms of four years.

A cooling off period is required before the person is eligible for the post again.

After agreeing to resign, Khanna was re-elected AITA President for a 4 year term till 2020. But he chose to resign and AITA as per the Constitution, elevated Mahajan one of the 10 Vice Presidents.

A special general meeting will be held by March 2017 to permit members to let the President for the remaining period closing 2020.

Apart from Mahajan, two others were eligible for post of president as per the age and tenure of the sports code

AITA: All India Tennis Association

  • AITA was founded in March, 1920.
  • Affiliation: International Tennis Federation
  • Regional Affiliation: Asian Tennis Federation
  • Headquarters: RK Khanna Tennis Complex, African Avenue, Delhi
  • Official website:

4)   Who has won the 2016 Australian Open women’s singles title?

a. Angelique Kerber
b. Serena Williams
c. Venus Williams
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Angelique Kerber

Angelique Kerber of Germany on 30th January 2016 won the Australian Open Women’s Singles Tennis title at the Rod Laver Arena in Australia’s Melbourne city. The seventh seeded player defeated world number 1 Serena Williams to win the match. This is her second win over Serena in 7 career meetings. Meanwhile, Novak Djokovic won the men’s open singles final beating Andy Murray.

5)   Whom did Novak Djokovic beat during his first game of 2016, the Qatar Open?

a. Dustin Brown
b. Roger Federer
c. Rafael Nadel
d. Andy Murray
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Dustin Brown

Novak Djokovic won at the Qatar Open on 4th January 2016 beating Dustin Brown 6-2,6-2. The world number 1 beat his German rival easily. Brown who is World Number 118 lost the first set in just 25 minutes. This was the first ever meeting between the pair. This is Djokovic’s second appearance in Qatar.