Tata, DTH - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Who has become the first non Parsi chairman of TATA Sons?

a. N. Chandrasekaran
b. K Gopinath
c. Cyrus Mistry
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: N. Chandrasekaran

TCS MD and CEO, N Chandrasekaran has been appointed Chairman of TATA Sons. He is expected to take charge on Feb 21, 2017.

Popularly called “Chandra” the 54-year-old was chosen to step in as the new chairman after the removal of Cyrus Mistry. He will replace interim chairman Ratan Tata.

This is as per the recommendation of the Selection Committee.

He will now step down from his position in TCS which will be taken over by Rajesh Gopinathan, currently the company’s CFO,

Meanwhile, a battle is on at the National Company Law Tribunal with Mistry, who has challenged his ouster.

About Chandrasekaran's Career Milestones

Mr. Chandrasekaran was the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Tata Consultancy Services since 2009.

A Tata employee for life, he had joined the company in 1987.

He was appointed as a Director on the board of Tata Sons on October 25, 2016.

He is the third non Tata to be chairman of Tata Sons, the holding company of Tata Group .

Chandrasekaran is an avid photographer and a passionate long-distance runner and completed several marathons around the world.

Know More About TCS

  • Industry: IT services, IT consulting
  • Founded: 1968
  • Founder: J.R.D. Tata, F.C. Kohli
  • Headquarters: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
  • Chairman: Ishaat Hussain
  • CEO and MD: Rajesh Gopinathan

2)   Who has been nominated as Chairman of Board of Directors of TATA Power?

a. S Padmanabhan
b. Mehli Mistry
c. Cyrus Mistry
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: S Padmanabhan

Tata Power has said that S Padmanabhan has been nominated as chairman of the board of directors of the company. S Padmanabhan, additional director on the company’s board, has been nominated as Chairman of the board of directors of the company effective January 4, 2017, Tata Power said in a BSE filing.

In December 2016, Mr. Padmanabhan was appointed the Additional Director.

Previously, he was the Executive Chairman, Tata Business Excellence Group (TBExG), and was recently given the additional responsibility as Head of Group HR for Tata Sons.

Mr. Padmanabhan has been associated with the Tata group for over 34 years.

The nomination comes against the backdrop of Cyrus Mistry’s resignation as director of the company in December.

TATA Power: Know More

  • CEO: Anil Kumar Sardana (since Feb 1, 2011)
  • Headquarters: Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • Revenue: 330.3 billion INR (2013, US$4.9 billion)
  • Parent organization: Tata Group