UN - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   193 member state of the UN have adopted new development goals to be attained by 2030. How many are these in number?

a. 15
b. 16
c. 17
d. 18
Answer  Explanation 


UN adopts 17 development goals

UN has adopted 17 development goals to be attained by 2030 instead of 8 MDGs adopted in a 2000 summit which expired in 2015. The new goals are as follows:

- End poverty in all its forms everywhere

- End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture

- Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages

- Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all

- Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls

- Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all

- Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all

- Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all

- Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialisation, and foster innovation

- Reduce inequality within and among countries

- Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable

- Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

- Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts

- Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

- Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification and halt and reverse land degradation, and halt biodiversity loss

- Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels

- Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalise the global partnership for sustainable development

2)   UN Chief Ban Ki-moon launched an initiative to build climate resilience in the most vulnerable countries of the world. What is it called?

a. Anticipate Absorb Reshape
b. Anticipate Absorb Remould
c. Anticipate Absorb Rediscover
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Anticipate Absorb Reshape

UN Chief Ban Ki-moon along with the agencies of the UN system on 30th November 2015 launched initiative titled Anticipate, Absorb, Reshape to build climate resilience in the world’s most vulnerable countries. This initiative will strengthen the ability of countries to anticipate hazards, absorb shocks, and reshape development to reduce climate risks and address the needs of the nearly 634 million people, or a tenth of the global population who live in at-risk coastal areas just a few meters above existing sea levels. It will also monitor and prevent extreme weather events.