ICWAI - Eligibility, Fee and Prospects

ICWAI – Eligibility, Fee and Prospects

ICWAI is one of the reputed courses in India, next to CA. There are three levels in ICWAI :

a) Foundation level
b) Intermediate level
c) Final level

Eligibility – Students who have passed 10+2 from a recognized board and who are above 17 years of age can apply for this course. In case, if you have completed your graduation degree, you are eligible for the intermediate course. Once you pass the intermediate course, you can apply for the final level.

How to apply – You can register for the course anytime during the year. The examination is conducted twice in a year (first in the month of June and next in December). The registration forms are available online.

Fee structure – The fee structure for each level varies.

For Foundation – Rs 4000
For Intermediate – Rs 20000 (Rs 16000 for postal)
For Final – Rs 17000 (Rs 12000 for postal)

Career prospects – After passing the intermediate or final level, candidates can work in the top management positions. Job roles suited for these candidates are that of a auditor, cost controller, accountant, finance manager, chief internal auditor, etc.

Difference between CA and ICWAI – CA covers all the aspects of accounting whereas ICWAI deals with the cost and financial management of a business. The major work of a chartered accountant includes taxation and auditing whereas that of a cost and work accountant is to manage the cost by designing the cost control methods.

Duration – The duration of the course is one year and the duration of the final level is 10 months.
Post your comment