India’s agreements with different countries post NSG waiver 2008

India’s agreements with different countries post NSG waiver 2008

Subsequent to the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG) waiver in 2008, what are the agreements on nuclear energy that India has signed with different countries?( IAS Mains 2011)

- 45 nations NSG agreed to waiver which lifts an over three-decade, US-led world embargo on civilian nuclear trade with India that was imposed after the country first exploded a nuclear device in 1974.
- The waiver means India now has the legal right, under the world nuclear regulatory regime, to trade for civilian nuclear fuel and technology.

India has signed agreements on nuclear energy with following countries subsequent to the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG) waiver in 2008

1. France – 2008 for the setting upto third-generation EPR reactors of 1650 MW each at Jaitapur, Maharashtra by the French company Areva.

2. Russia – 2008 construction and commissioning of 12 units in the next two decades including Kudankulam plant; technological transfer;also Russia gave India freedom to proceed with the closed fuel cycle, which includes mining, preparation of the fuel for use in reactors, and reprocessing of spent fuel.

3. Mongolia - 2009 MoU was signed in the field of Peaceful Use of Radioactive Minerals and Nuclear Energy' would enable India to procure for uranium in Mongolia.

4. Kazakastan – 2009 Kazakhstan is a major producer and exporter of uranium ; signed an MoU with NPCIL assuring India of supply of 2,100 tonnes of uranium; Agreed to supply of fuel, construction and operation of atomic power plants, exploration and joint mining of uranium, exchange of scientific and research information, reactor safety mechanisms and use of radiation technologies for healthcare.

5. Namibia -2009 known as a fifth largest producer of uranium in the world. The Indo-Namibian agreement in peaceful uses of nuclear energy allows for supply of uranium and setting up of nuclear reactors.

6. Argentina – 2009 For peaceful uses of nuclear energy, both India and Argentina have agreed to encourage and support scientific, technical and commercial co-operation for mutual benefit in this field.

7. Canada – 2010- Canada is the world’s largest exporter of uranium and the India and Canada are only two countries that uses of heavy water nuclear technology.

8. South Korea – Looking into possibility of entering into global market South Korea signed a nuclear agreement with India which will allow South Korea to take part in India’s nuclear expansion programme, and to bid for constructing nuclear power plants in India.

9. Australia 2011 - India signed a civil nuclear cooperation agreement with Australia in 2014 as negotiations on the deal since 2012, when Australia reversed its policy on nuclear sales to India. The policy was based on India’s refusal to sign the Nuclear Non-Proliferation. Both countries underlined the need for cooperation in production of radio isotopes, nuclear safety and other areas not spelt out in the release. This may lead to comprehensive nuclear science and technology cooperation.
Post your comment