Awards & Honours - Current Affairs for November, 2015

Awards & Honours Current Affairs for November, 2015

Month wise coverage of Awards & Honours Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Awards & Honours Current Affairs November, 2015

1. Read the most important Awards & Honours Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Awards & Honours MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh confers PHD Chamber of Commerce Awards   [11-30-15]

Union minister from MHA Shri Rajnath Singh inaugurated the 110th Annual session of the PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry organized around the theme “Transforming India- Together We Can and We Will.” The lifetime achievement award for contribution in the area of public transport was given to “Metro Man” Dr. E. Sreedharan. Dabur India Ltd won the Good Corporate Citizen award while GMR Varalakshmi Foundation won the award for outstanding contribution to social welfare. Outstanding social welfare by non corporate award was given to Smt. P. Bandar and Outstanding Businesswoman Award to Monica Malhotra of Hoy Faith International Pvt Ltd. The Entrepreneurship award was won by D. K. Aggarwal while Award for Excellence in Skill Development was conferred on PHFI.

▼ Ministry of Development Urban Mobility India award winners announced    [11-30-15]

Gurgaon Police was awarded for their ‘Let’s Talk About Road Safety’ campaign while Bhopal Traffic Police’s ‘Behtar Traffic-Behtar Bhopal’ also won the prize. “Best City Bus Services” Award was jointly presented to Chhattisgarh State Urban Development Authority and Raipur Municipal Commissioner and Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation. Municipal Commissioner, Raipur received the Award for ‘Cluster Based City Bus Project of Chhattisgarh.
‘Best Intelligent Transport System Project’ Award was presented to ‘Computerised Duty Schedules’ of BEST, Mumbai.

▼ Power Pavilion (Ministry of Power) wins award in IITF 2015   [11-30-15]

Power Pavilion of Ministry of Power has won Gold Award at the India International Trade fair (IITF) -2015. It has won the award for consistent performance in the field.

▼ Kuldip Nayar wins Ramnath Goenka Journalism award   [11-25-15]

He was conferred with the award at the eighth edition of the event. Over 56 journalists were awarded in different categories for excellent reportage in print and broadcast media. Kuldip Nayar is former editor of Indian Express and he was jailed during the time of Emergency.

▼ Retrospective Honours paid to eminent Israeli filmmaker Amos Gitai   [11-23-15]

The 46th IFFI paid Retrospective Honours to well known Israeli film maker Amos Gitai with the screening of the movie “Rabin, the Last Day.” Amos Gitai’s ten films are being screened including Alia, Berlin-Jerusalem, Devarim, Esther, Golem, the Spirit of the Exile, Kadosh, Lullaby to my Father, Tsili, Yom Yom. He was born in the 1950s in haifa and has created many fiction and documentary films which have brought him worldwide fame.

▼ NSS awards were presented on Smt Indira Gandhi’s birth anniversary   [11-20-15]

National Service Scheme (NSS) was launched during Mahatma Gandhi's Centenary Year which is 1969. It involves 40,000 student volunteers in 37 universities and has more than 351 universities and 42 (+2) Councils and implemented in 16,057 academic institutions under it. Winners of the Indira Gandhi NSS award for 2014-2015 were felicitated by Shri Pranab Mukherjee.

▼ 5 Tech startups win awards   [11-17-15]

5 winners are Bengaluru based Lightmetrics Technologies Private Limited and Packal, Delhi based Neuron and Swift File Transfer, and Thane based Survelytics. Next Big Idea contest started in July 2015 to discover the 5 most innovative tech companies from India which will leverage their presence in Ontario.

▼ 12 NMD awards conferred on 53rd National Metallurgists’ Day   [11-16-15]

The NMD awards were presented at the 53rd National Metallurgists Day celebration in TN under the aegis of GoI, Ministry of steel. Lifetime achievement award was conferred on Shri RN Parbat, former director and COO, INDAL. IIM Sustainability Awards to industries under different categories and the IIM-JRD Tata Award for Excellence in Corporate Leadership in Metallurgical Industries, were given to Shri M Narayana Rao, former CMD, MIDHANI respectively.

▼ Well known Dalit writer Devanooru Mahadeva returns awards in protest   [11-16-15]

Dalit writer Devanooru Mahadeva has joined writers and activists in returning awards to register protest against rising intolerance in India. The decision has been made to return Padma Shri and Sahitya Akademi award. The writer was honoured with the former award in 2011 and the Sahitya Akademi award for the novella “Kusumabale” in the 1990s. The Mysuru based writer has hit out against rising intolerance in India.

▼ Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma receives Aditya Vikram Birla Kala Shikhar Award   [11-10-15]

Santoor expert Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma was honoured on 7th November 2015 with the lifetime achievement award. The award was presented to the 77 year old Maestro by Maharashtra governor C. Vidyasagar Rao. Murad Ali Khan (Sarangi) and Satyajit Talwalkar (Tabla) were awarded with the Kala Kiran Awards. Special Jury Award was conferred on Shehnai players Sanjeev and Ashwani Shankar. Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma is also a winner of the Padma Shri and Padma Vibhushan

▼ Manipal University wins FICCI Higher Education Awards 2015   [11-9-15]

Manipal University has won university of the year and excellence in employability FICCI Higher Education Awards 2015 at a summit lasting from 1st to 7th November 2015 in New Delhi. Manipal University is the highest ranked comprehensive private deemed university in the QS BRICS and Asia rankings. There are a total of 700 universities in India.

▼ C-DOT bags award for Gyan Setu   [11-4-15]

Centre for Development of Telematics on 2nd November 2015 has won the Recognition of Excellence award for Gyan Setu at the ITU World Telecom 2015 held at Budapest, Hungary. This project aims to boost PM Modi’s Digital India initiative and was showcased live at the event as a part of Digital India Pavilion by the C-DOT under the Ministry of Communication and Information Technology (IT).

▼ Pathak wins New York Global Leaders Dialogue Humanitarian Award   [11-2-15]

The New York Global Leaders Dialogue Humanitarian Award was conferred on B. Pathak, sociologist and founder of Sulabh International for improving the lives of manual scavengers. He started working for this cause after he joined the Bhangi-Mukti (scavengers’ liberation) Cell of the Bihar Gandhi Centenary Celebrations Committee. He founded the Sulabh International Social Service Organization in 1970.