Sports - Current Affairs for May, 2015

Sports Current Affairs for May, 2015

Month wise coverage of Sports Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Sports Current Affairs May, 2015

1. Read the most important Sports Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Sports MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ J. S. Blatter elected FIFA president for fifth term   [05-17-15]

Incumbent FIFA President Joseph Sepp Blatter on 29th May’15 was re-elected as President for the fifth term. He was chosen for the post by the 65th FIFA Congress held in Zurich.

▼ Trevor Bayliss appointed as head coach of English cricket team   [05-17-15]

Trevor Bayliss replaced Peter Moores. He is the first Australian to coach England cricket players.

▼ Abhinav Bindra becomes 4thIndian shooter to qualify for Rio Olympics   [05-17-15]

Abhinav Bindra earned the place after he finished sixth in the Men's 10 metre Air Rifle final at the ISSF Shooting World Cup in Munich on 28th May’15. Gagan Narang, Jitu Rai and Apurvi Chandela are the other Indians to have secured an Olympic quota earlier. Each country can win a maximum of 30 quota places from a total of 15 shooting disciplines (including shotgun events), two each from each discipline.

▼ Andre Russell chosen as Player of the Tournament for IPL-8   [05-17-15]

Andre Russell of Kolkata Knight Riders has been chosen as the Player of the Tournament in IPL-8 season. Orange Cup awarded to David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderbad, Dwayne Bravo awarded with Purple cap and Shreyas Iyer of Delhi Daredevils.

▼ Ajinkya Rahane named CEAT Cricketer of the Year 2015   [05-17-15]

The CEAT awards honour the best of the cricketers based on their performances in international cricketing in all formats - Test, ODI and T20 - as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2014 – 2015.

▼ Kumar Sangakarra named International Cricketer of the Year 2015   [05-17-15]

He is the former Sri Lankan captain.

▼ 3 medals won by Indian sportspersons at World Women's Junior Boxing Championship award   [05-17-15]

Savita (50kg), Mandeep Sandhu (52kg) and Sakshi (54kg) struck gold for the country, while Soniya (48kg) and Niharika Gonella (70kg) settled for silver medals.

▼ BCCI recommends contract system for Indian women cricket team   [05-17-15]

A Contract system for international Women cricketers was proposed. It was also proposed to have more international fixtures for the Indian women’s cricket team.

▼ Mumbai Indians wins IPL-8   [05-17-15]

Mumbai Indians won the final match of IPL 8 and clinched the title.

▼ Saina Nehwal attains first rank in BWF world rankings   [05-17-15]

Saina secured the numero uno spot for the first time early last month. But she slipped from the coveted position subsequently. The Olympic bronze medallist, however, climbed to the number one ranking on 21st May’15 once again ahead of the Australian Open, starting on May 26. Meanwhile, P V Sindhu lost a position to be on 12th place in the Rankings. In men's singles, K Srikanth has retained his fourth place. P Kashyap maintained his 13th place and H S Parnnoy also held on to his 15th spot.

▼ Anil Kumble leads ICC committee for deciding test match format and duration   [05-17-15]

The Cricket Committee's mandate is to discuss cricket-playing matters and make recommendations to the ICC Chief Executives Committee and the ICC Board that will meet in Barbados during the ICC's annual conference week, from June 22-26.

▼ HP to hold Paragliding World Cup 2015 in October   [05-17-15]

This is for the first time that India will be hosting the Paragliding World Cup which will see participation from over 50 countries. Himachal Pradesh will host the Paragliding World Cup from 23 October to 31 October 2015 at Bir Billing in Kangra valley. The world cup will be held under the aegis of Para-gliding World Cup Association, France.

▼ Maria Sharapova wins Women's Singles title at Italy Open   [05-17-15]

Russian Maria Sharapova on 17 May 2015 won the women’s singles of Italian Open for the third time. She defeated Spain's Carla Suarez Navarro.

▼ Tejaswini bags gold in School World Chess Championship 2015   [05-14-15]

In the event that concluded at Pattaya, Tajaswini - Aurangabad-girl defeated Kavinya Miyuni Rajapaksa of Sri Lanka in the ninth and final round.

▼ Andy Murray claims first win over Rafael Nadel on clay in Madrid Master's   [05-14-15]

He had never beaten Rafael Nadal in six previous meetings on the surface.

▼ Vikas Gowda wins gold at discus competition   [05-14-15]

Chad Wright of Jamaica was second, while Jared Schuurmans of United States was third.

▼ English cricketer Jonathan Trott announces retirement from ICC following West Indies tour   [05-14-15]

He struggled on his return to the Test arena during England's 1-1 drawn series with the West Indies in the Caribbean concluded on May’15, managing just 72 runs in six innings including three ducks.

▼ Rafael Nadel receives Golden Medal for Merit in Work 2015   [05-14-15]

Rafael Nadal had originally been scheduled to pick up the award in November last year but the ceremony was called off after he had to undergo surgery to remove his appendix. Spain's conservative government decided to award him the honour in June 2014, which aims to highlight an "exemplary performance" in any job or profession.

▼ Sandeep Jajodia removed from post of president of Boxing India   [05-13-15]

The SGM, which was attended by 64 members of the BI, passed a No Confidence Motion in a Special Genral Meeting (SGM) of the Boxing India (BI) on 3 May 2015 removed Sandeep Jajodia as its president.

▼ Floyd Mayweather Jr wins boxing bout and triple titles   [05-13-15]

He is an American Boxer. The legendary bout termed as ‘Fight of the Century’, took place at iconic MGM Grand, Las Vegas and witnessed 12 rounds of intense boxing. This fight was the highest watched and most revenue generating almost 400 million dollars of all time.

▼ Georgia wins Women's World Team Chess Championship award 2015   [05-13-15]

Georgia won the Women’s World Team Chess Championship by defeating Russia. Mariya Muzychuk was declared the world champion 2015.

▼ Rohit Sharma recommended for Arjuna awards 2015 by BCCI   [05-13-15]

The decision to recommend ODI opener Rohit for the prestigious award was taken at the Indian cricket board's Working Committee meeting in Mumbai on 26th Apr’15.