Mare Dibaba, Athletics - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Steeplechase athlete Sudha Singh broke the national record in women’s _________ m steeplechase event to finish 8th in championship.

a. 3000
b. 4000
c. 5000
d. 6000
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: 3000

Steeplechase athlete Sudha Singh on 14 May 2016 set a national record in women’s 3000m steeplechase event to finish eighth at the IAAF World Diamond League held at Shanghai.

  • Sudha clocked 9 minutes, 26.55 seconds to finish a eighth in the second leg of the prestigious IAAF Diamond League Meet.
  • In the 2010 Asian Games in Guangzhou, China, she won the gold medal with a time of 9:55.67. In June 2012, she qualified for Olympic Games 2012 after she broke her own 3000m steeplechase national record with a timing of 9:47.70 secs.

2)   Name the athlete who topped the list of 2015 World's 100 Highest-Paid Athletes?

a. Mahendra Singh Dhoni
b. Manny Pacquiao
c. Cristiano Ronaldo
d. Floyd Mayweather
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Floyd Mayweather

Floyd Mayweather tops the list for the second year in a row and third time in four years with 300 million US dollars. The only Indian to figure in the list is Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

3)   What position did India secure in the 21st Asian Athletics Championships that concluded in Wuhan (China) on 7 June 2015?

a. First
b. Second
c. Third
d. Fourth
Answer  Explanation 


India secured a medal haul of 4 gold, 5 silver and 4 bronze in the championships to finish third behind China (15, 13, 13) and Qatar (7, 2, 1).

4)   Who was conferred with the Asian Athletics Association (AAA) President’s award on 2nd June’15?

a. Suresh Kalmadi
b. Lalit Bhanot
c. Milkha Singh
d. Kapil Dev
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Suresh Kalmadi

He was awarded for his contribution towards the development of athletics in Asian continent.

5)   Name the boy who set a national youth record in boys’ hammer throw event and won gold medal in the 12th National Youth Athletics Championships held in Bambolim, Goa?

a. Vinaysheel Kumar
b. Ashish Jakkar
c. Ajay Shastri
d. Sumit Rana
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Ashish Jakkar

No explanation is available for this question!