Nobel Prize - GS questions based on daily current affairs

1)   Which of the following pair/s is/are wrongly matched?

1.  Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences : Physics
2.  Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet : Chemistry
3.  The Swedish Academy: Literature
4.  The Swedish Nobel Committee: Peace

a. 2,3
b. 2,4
c. Only 4
d. None
Answer  Explanation 


- The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the Nobel Prize in Physics, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
- The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
- The Swedish Academy grants the Nobel Prize in Literature
- The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

2)   Which of the following Nobel prize/s is/are awarded in Norway?

a. Medicine
b. Peace
c. Economics
d. Literature
e. b and c
Answer  Explanation 


The prizes in Chemistry,Literature,Physics, Economics and Physiology or Medicine are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, except for the peace prize which is awarded in Oslo, Norway.

3)   Svetlana Alexievich has won Nobel Literature prize 2015.She is from

a. Ukraine
b. Poland
c. Russia
d. Belarus
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Belarus

- It has been half a century since a writer working primarily in non-fiction won the Nobel - and Alexievich is the first journalist to win the award.
- Her best-known works in English translation include Voices from Chernobyl, an oral history of the 1986 nuclear catastrophe; and Zinky Boys, a collection of first-hand accounts from the Soviet-Afghan war.
- Alexievich has previously won the Swedish PEN prize for her "courage and dignity as a writer

4)   Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald won Nobel Prize in physics for -

a. Developing the first blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs)
b. "Wonder material" graphene.
c. Theory of the Higgs boson particle.
d. Discovery of neutrino oscillations
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Discovery of neutrino oscillations

- Takaaki Kajita of Japan and Arthur McDonald of Canada won the Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of neutrino oscillations.

- Neutrinos are particles that whiz through the universe at nearly the speed of light.

- They are created in nuclear reactions, such as in the sun and the stars, or in nuclear power plants.

5)   Which of the following statements is/are correct about Nobel Prize?

1. Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was established later.
2. Prize may not be shared among more than three people.

a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both
d. None
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Only 2

- The related Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences was established by Sweden's central bank in 1968.
- Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2015 will be shared by William C Campbell and Satoshi Omura jointly and by Youyou Tu .
William C Campbell and Satoshi Omura found a new way of tackling infections caused by roundworm parasites. Parasitic worms affect a third of the world's population and cause a number of illnesses, including river blindness and lymphatic filariasis.
River blindness is an eye and skin disease that ultimately leads to blindness. Lymphatic filariasis, also known as elephantiasis, causes painful swelling of the limbs.
- Youyou Tu shares the prize for her discovery of a therapy against malaria.

6)   Consider the following statements

1. John Nash was mathematician whose worked on game theory
2. He was awarded with Nobel Memorial Prize for Economics
3. He was given Abel Prize in 2015 which is considered as a mathematician's "Nobel Prize"
4. He is the only person to win Nobel and Abel prize

Which of the above statements are correct?

a. 1,2,3
b. 2,3
c. 1,3,4
d. All the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: All the above

The Abel Prize is an international prize awarded annually by the Government of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.