TWAS Prize - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Who has won the prestigious TWAS prize in the engineering category for 2015 on December 8th?

a. Professor A Ramamurthy
b. Professor C Ramamurty
c. Professor J Ramamurty
d. Professor U Ramamurty
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Professor U Ramamurty

Professor U Ramamurty of the Indian Institute of Science has been honoured with the the 2015 Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) prize, which carries a cash prize of USD 15,000, in the engineering category. Former presidents of TWAS have included prominent Indian academicians such as Prof. C. N. R Rao. TWAS prize is conferred by UNESCO. Other Indians who won the award include Jagadish Ladha in International Rice Research Institute and TIFR’s Sandip Trivedi.