Awards & Honours - Current Affairs for February, 2015

Awards & Honours Current Affairs for February, 2015

Month wise coverage of Awards & Honours Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Awards & Honours Current Affairs February, 2015

1. Read the most important Awards & Honours Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Awards & Honours MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ Clemson University confers honorary doctorate on Ratan Tata   [02-27-15]

Ratan Tata was awarded for his contributions to the global automotive industry.

▼ Big Hero 6 wins Best Animated film award at 87thAcademy awards 2015   [02-27-15]

Walt Disney's super hero action comedy film "Big Hero 6" won the best animated feature film. The 3D computer-animated film, inspired by the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name, won the first Oscar for its directors Don Hall, Chris Williams and producer Roy Conli.

▼ Ida wins Best Foreign Language film at 87thAcademy Awards/Oscars 2015   [02-27-15]

The black-and-white Polish film "Ida" bagged the award for the best foreign language film. The movie was directed by Pawel Pawlikowski.

▼ Julianne Moore wins Best Female Actor award at 87thAcademy Awards/ Oscar's 2015   [02-27-15]

Juliana Moore adjudged the best actress for her role in Still Alice. Patricia Arquette won the best actress title in a supporting role for the ‘Boyhood’ movie.

▼ Eddie Redmayne wins Best Male Actor award at 87thAcademy Awards/Oscar's 2015   [02-27-15]

British actor Eddie Redmayne won the best actor Oscar award for his role in "The Theory of Everything" while K Simmons won the best supporting actor for Whiplash film.

▼ Birdman wins at 87thOscar Awards 2015   [02-27-15]

At the 87th Annual Academy Awards or the Oscar, Birdman bagged the best picture award. The Broadway-set "Birdman", hailed for its complex narrative about the impact of fame and artistic ego. Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu Director of Birdman awarded with Best Director Award.

▼ IGAI chosen as best airport at ASQ awards 2015   [02-24-15]

Mumbai Airport was also placed in the top five list.

▼ D.Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award 2014 awarded to Geeta Varadan and Tessy Thomas   [02-24-15]

Geeta Vardan is a Director of Advanced Data Processing Research Institute of ISRO and Tessy Thomas is a Director of Advanced Systems Laboratory of DRDO.

▼ NSF Faculty Early CAREER development award 2015 goes to Srikanth Jagabathula   [02-24-15]

He received the award for developing data-driven modelling and learning techniques to improve the accuracy of operational decision making.

▼ Charleston EFG John Maynard Keynes prize 2015 won by Amartya Sen   [02-24-15]

He is regarded as one of the foremost thinkers in the field of famine, poverty, social choice and welfare economics. The award was announced on 23 May 2014 by Director of the Charleston Trust, Alistair Burtenshaw at a lecture given by Channel 4 News Culture and Digital Editor Paul Mason at the Charleston Festival.

▼ Neela Vasvani and Ricky Kej won an award at the 57thannual Grammy's in 2015   [02-24-15]

Neela Vasvani won the award in the Best Children’s Album category for “I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up For Education And Changed The World (Malala Yousafzai)” and Ricky Kej’s collaboration in the album “Winds Of Samsara” won the Best New Age Album trophy.

▼ Noted Marathi writer Bhalachandra Nemade chosen for 2014 Jnanpith award   [02-23-15]

He is the 50th recipient of the award. Mr Nemade occupies a unique place in Marathi literature and his hugely celebrated works include novels Kosala and Hindu. He has also been conferred with Padma Shri and Sahitya Academi award. His important literary works include Kosala (1963), Hool, Bidar (1967), Zarila (1977), Zhool (1979) and Teeka Swayamvara (volume on literary criticism)

▼ Dr. Zakir. A. Naik awarded 2015 King Faisal International Prize   [02-23-15]

He won this award for his service to Islam. He is the president of Islamic Research Foundation of India.

▼ Saloni Dalal becomes youngest medal winner at 35thNational Games   [02-23-15]

The 12-year-old, Saloni won a Bronze medal in the 200 meter breast stroke swimming event.

▼ MP wins MGNREGA award on 2ndFebruary 2015   [02-23-15]

Three States, 11 districts, 15 Postal Department officers and 9 Sarpanches were recognized and awarded for demonstrating excellence and undertaking specific initiatives to ensure effective implementation of MGNREGA.