Awards & Honours - Current Affairs for May, 2015

Awards & Honours Current Affairs for May, 2015

Month wise coverage of Awards & Honours Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Awards & Honours Current Affairs May, 2015

1. Read the most important Awards & Honours Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Awards & Honours MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ Dr. B. Rabha named Upendra Nath Bramha Scholar Award winner 2014   [05-17-15]

The award has been instituted by Upendra Nath Brahma Trust (UNBT), in the name of Bodofa UN Brahma, former president of the All Bodo Students Union. Dr Birubala Rabha, anti witch hunting activist has been chosen for 12th UN Brahma Soldier of Humanity Award, 2015, recognising her struggle against the blind belief and ill culture of the society.

▼ Dheepan wins Palme d'Or at Cannes 2014   [05-17-15]

Dheepan movie was directed by Jacques Audiard.

▼ Massan wins two prestigious awards   [05-17-15]

Massan directed by Neeraj Ghaywan.

▼ Laszlo Krasznahorkai wins Man Booker International Prize 2015   [05-17-15]

Hungarian writer Laszlo Krasznahorkai has won the prestigious Man Booker International Prize for 2015. He was announced the winner at an award ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on 20th May 15.

▼ Kayakalp awards conferred in the field of public health   [05-14-15]

The Health Minister stated that the “Kayakalp” initiative will encourage every public health facility in the country to work towards standards of excellence to help the facilities stay clean and hygienic. This does not apply only to physical cleanliness, but to develop and put in place systems and procedures for activities such as bio-waste disposal or protocols etc.

▼ Anurradha Prasad conferred with Pt. Haridutt Sharma award by Vice President Hamid Ansari   [05-14-15]

Anurradha Prasad, Editor-in-Chief-News-24 Channel awarded in the field of Journalism, Writing and Social Services. Pt. Haridutt Sharma was a renowned journalist and eminent writer. In his memory, this Annual award is given in the field of Journalism, Writing and Social Services for the outstanding contribution in their respective field.

▼ Eva Maria Wilden conferred with Kural Pitam award 2011-2012   [05-14-15]

Kural Pitam Award is given to eminent scholars of Classical Tamil of non-Indian origin.

▼ Tolkapiyyar awards conferred on Shanmugan and Krishnamurthi   [05-14-15]

President Pranab Mukherjee on 14th May’15 conferred the Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil for the years 2011-12 and 2012-13 on scholars for their outstanding contribution to the development of Classical Tamil language and literature.

▼ Shashi Kapoor conferred with Dada Saheb Phalke award 2015   [05-14-15]

In the presence of his illustrious family and who’s who of the Hindi film industry, veteran Bollywood actor Shashi Kapoor received the prestigious Award.

▼ Syrian journalist Mazen Darwish wins UNESCO Freedom prize 2015   [05-14-15]

The UN's cultural body on Sunday awarded its annual press freedom prize to Mazen Darwish, a Syrian journalist and rights activist who has been jailed by the regime for more than three years.

▼ C. N. R Rao awarded Japan's highest civilian honour for scientific contribution   [05-13-15]

Prof. C N R Rao is also the only Indian to be elected as a foreign member of the Japan Academy in Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research.

▼ M.W. Khan awarded Sayyidina Imam Al Hassan Ibn Ali Peace Award 2015   [05-13-15]

He is a noted Islamic scholar and peace activist. He has received, among others, the Demiurgus Peace International Award, under the patronage of the former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev; the Padma Bhushan, in January 2000; the National Citizen’s Award, presented by Mother Teresa and the Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award (2009).