Badminton - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   For the first time, how many male Indian shuttlers made it to the top 50 BWF rankings?

a. 4
b. 5
c. 6
d. 7
Answer  Explanation 


For the first time, 6 Indian male shuttlers are ranked inside the top 50 men’s world rankings

In the latest Badminton World Federation rankings, Kidambi Srikanth, Ajay Jayaram, HS Prannoy, Sai Praneeth, Sameer Verma and Sourabh Verma.

The rankings are as follows:

  • Kidambi Srikanth- 12
  • Ajay Jayaram- 19
  • HS Prannoy- 25
  • Sai Praneeth- 36
  • Sameer Verma- 43
  • Sourabh Verma- 45

  • BWF: Badminton World Federation

  • This is an international governing body for the sport of badminton
  • It is recognised by the International Olympic Committee
  • Founded in 1934 as the International Badminton Federation with 9 member nations
    BWF currently has 176 member nations
  • It changed its name to BWF in Sept 2006
  • Headquarters: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • President: Poul-Erik Høyer Larsen

2)   Which doubles pair has regained their career’s best ranking of Number 17 in the BWF rankings?

a. Manu Attri and H. S. Prannoy
b. Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy
c. Kidambi Srikanth and Parupalli Kashypa
d. Parupalli Kashypa and H. S. Prannoy
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy

Based on the success of the maiden Grand Prix title triumph in Mexico Open, the men’s doubles pair of Manu Attri and B. Sumeeth Reddy jumped 3 spots to regain career best ranking of World Number 17 in latest BWF rankings. Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu continued to be static at World No.2 and 12 while Kidambi Srikanth remained World No.9 and Parupalli Kashyap as well as HS, Prannoy retained World No. 10 and 15 rankings respectively. Women’s doubles pair of Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa fell to World No 14 while Arvind Jayaram gained 21st place after his quarter final appearance in Mexico in the men’s singles.

3)   Which shuttlers won the men’s and women’s singles at the BWF Superseries Finals on December 13, 2015?

a. Kento Momota and Nozomi Okuhara
b. Chen Long and Carolina Marin
c. Chen Long and Saina Nehwal
d. Kidambi Srikanth and P.V. Sindhu
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Kento Momota and Nozomi Okuhara

Japanese shuttlers Kento Momota and Nozomi Okuhara have won the men’s and women’s singles categories in the BWF Superseries Final at Hamden Sports Complex. World no.5 Momota beat Danish Viktor Axelsen while World No.4 Okuhara beat No.3 Yihan Wang from China. Chinese twin shuttlers Luo Ying and Luo Yu won the women’s doubles titles while in the mixed double final, Adock couple Chris and Gabriele were the victors. Indonesia’s double men’s pair of Hendra Setiwan and Mohammad Ahsan won the men’s doubles.

4)   Which sports foundation signed an MoU with SAI on 24th November 2015?

a. Mary Kom Boxing Association
b. Pullela Gopichand Badminton Foundation
c. Both of the above
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Pullela Gopichand Badminton Foundation

Sports Authority of India and Pullela Gopichand Badminton Foundation (PGBF) inked an agreement to form SAI Gopichand National Badminton Academy at Gachibowli, Hyderabad.The Academy is being established for optional utilization of the facilities being set up with National Sports Development Fund assistance at PGBF. SAI will also utilise the Academy for national training camps and competitions. It will select 50 players in the national wide talent search scheme.

5)   Name the player who won the men’s single title at Japan Open Final on 13th September 2015:

a. Viktor Axelsen-Denmark
b. Lin Dan-China
c. Taufiq Hidayat-Indonesia
d. Lee Chong Wei-Malaysia
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Lin Dan-China

Chinese badminton legend Lin Dan has won the men’s singles title, prevailing over Viktor Axelsen of Denmark. Lin has won the Olympic medal 2 times and the world championship 5 times. He defeated the 21-year-old Dane 21-19, 16-21, 21-19. He looks to break the record of a third title at the 2016 Rio Olympics for which he has qualified.

6)   Name the player who won the men’s single titles of the India Open Super Series Badminton tournament on 29th Mar’15?

a. Arvind Bhat
b. Nikhil Kanetkar
c. Viktor Axelsen
d. Kidambi Srikanth
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Kidambi Srikanth

It is second Super Series title of his career. World Number Four and second seed Kidambi Srikanth overpowered Viktor Axelsen of Denmark.

7)   Name the player who won the women’s single title of the India Open Super Series Badminton tournament on 29th Mar’15?

a. Sania Mirza
b. Saina Nehwal
c. Jwala Gutta
d. P V Sindhu
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Saina Nehwal

Saina Nehwal clinched her maiden India Open Super Series title after notching up a dominating straight game victory against former world champion Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand.