Hockey - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Indian hockey team has won the Women's Asia Cup title how many times?

a. 1
b. 4
c. 3
d. 2
Answer  Explanation 


India had to wait long for their second Women's Asia Cup title with the last one coming way back in 2004

India edged past China 5-4 via shootout to win the women's Asia Cup hockey title here on Sunday. With this, India also qualified for next year's World Cup as Continental champion.

It was skipper Rani Rampal who scored the winning goal while Savita Punia made a great save in sudden death.

Savita was adjudged Goalkeeper-of-the-Tournament while Monica won the Woman-of-the-Match award.

Final: India 1 (Navjot Kaur) bt China 1 (Tiantian Luo) in shootout.
Third place: Korea 1 (Hyejeong Shin) bt Japan 0.

2)   Which former Hockey Player was named as the president of Hockey India?

a. Dhanraj Pillay
b. Mariamma Koshy
c. Sardar Singh
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Mariamma Koshy

Former Hockey player Mariamma Koshy on 25th Nov 2016 took charge of Hockey India as its president with immediate effect.

63-year-old Koshy succeeded Narinder Dhruv Batra as the first ever non European chief of the sport’s governing body International Hockey Federation.

Earlier in Nov 2016, Batra made history by becoming the first India and 15th FIH president. Batra served Hockey India as its secretary general from 2010 to 2014. He was serving as the organisation’s President since 2014.

Secretary General of Hockey India, Mohd Mushtaque Ahmed took over as chairman of the Hockey India League Governing Body.

Batra stepped down from his post due to election in the FIH. He cannot hold both posts Hockey India and FIH at the same time. He also resigned as chairman of the Hockey India League conceived in 2013

About “Hockey India”

  • Governing body of field hockey in India
  • Jurisdiction : Whole of India
  • Abbreviation : HI
  • Hockey India was founded in the year 2009
  • It is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation
  • Headquartered in New Delhi, India, its sponsor is Sahara India Pariwar

3)   Which leading hockey legend passed away due to multiple organ failure on 20th July, 2016?

a. Mohammad Shahid
b. Mohammad Saif
c. Mohammad Ali
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Mohammad Shahid

Indian hockey legend Mohammad Shahid known for his skills on the field died due to multiple organ failure.

  • After suffering a bout of jaundice and dengue, the 56 year old hockey great was in serious condition and had been airlifted from Varanasi.
  • Shahid was considered one of the greatest hockey players of India and member of the Indian team that won the 1980 Moscow Olympics
  • He was also part of the national team that won the silver medal at the Delhi Asian Games in 1982 and the bronze in the Seoul Asiad in 1986

4)   Which famous men’s hockey player passed away on 16th July?

a. Dhanraj Pillay
b. Sardar Singh
c. Joseph Antic
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Joseph Antic

Joseph Antic, a silver medallist in mens hockey for Rome Olympics for India passed away after the unveiling of the mens and women squad for the Rio Olympics.

  • Joseph Anthony Antic was born in 1931 and was an Indian field hockey player from AP.
  • The former hockey player was also among the coaches of the Indian team which won the world cup in 1973.

5)   India men’s hockey team has jumped to which position in the FIH ratings?

a. Fifth
b. Fourth
c. Third
d. Second
Answer  Explanation 


India’s men hockey team has jumped to fifth position ahead of Belgium, New Zealand and Argentina after the team lodged a protest against the penalty shootout before settling for historic silver after the jury announced a 1-3 result against Australia.

  • India will now have 1689 points at the close of the Champions Trophy, 56 points ahead of sixth placed Belgium and just eight away from Great Britain on the fourth
  • India was ranked fifth in 2004 last.
  • This marks the first time in more than a decade that India Hockey Team has made it to the top 5 in the world rankings since the International Hockey Federation started the system in 2003

6)   Hockey India has recommended which players for the Arjuna Award?

a. VR Raghunathan
b. Dharamvir Singh
c. Ritu Rani
d. All of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: All of the above

Hockey India has recommended national men’s team players VR Raghunath and Dharamvir Singh and women’s capital team Ritu Rani for the Arjuna Award.

  • Defender Raghunath and midfielder Dharamvir won the Asian Games gold medal at Incheon and were silver medallists in the Glasgow Commonwealth Games.
  • Ritu is a midfilder who captained the Indian women’s team to its first Olympic qualification.
  • HI also declared Sylvanus Dung Dung has been recommended for the Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award and veteran coach C.R. Kumar recommended for the Dronacharya Award.

7)   Swedish Bjorn Isberg has been appointed as the tournament director of which premier hockey league for India?

a. Coal India Hockey Indian League
b. Indian Premier League
c. International Hockey League
d. Indian Premier Hockey League
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Coal India Hockey Indian League

Sweden’s Bjorn Isberg was on 30th December appointed as Coal India’s HIL tournament director. The role of assistant tournament director was given to Muthukumar Balakrishnan from Malaysia. Umpire’s manager for the league was Andy Mair from Scotland.

8)   Which sports body has signed an MoU with SAI on 29th October 2015?

a. Boxing India
b. Hockey India
c. Mumbai Cricket Association
d. Rajasthan Cricket Association
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Hockey India

Hockey India has signed a 3 year MoU with SAI to enable hockey to retain its position as the leading sport of the nation. SAI will promote hockey to regain top position in the country and it is also among the most popular sports in the world. Sports Authority of India/SAI will work with HI to also improve the coaching and talent identification system in India.

9)   Who won the Guru Tegh Bahadur Hockey title on 27th Aug’15?

a. Army XI
b. Air India
c. Indian Railway
d. None of these
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Air India

Air India has regained the Guru Tegh Bahadur Hockey title after seven years. Air India defeated defending champions Army XI.

10)   What position has been secured by India's under-21 women hockey team at the Volvo Invitational tournament?

a. First
b. Second
c. Third
d. Fourth
Answer  Explanation 


No explanation is available for this question!

1 2