Appointments - Current Affairs for May, 2015

Appointments Current Affairs for May, 2015

Month wise coverage of Appointments Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Appointments Current Affairs May, 2015

1. Read the most important Appointments Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Appointments MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ George Yeo appointed new Chancellor of Nalanda University   [05-17-15]

George Yeo is a former foreign minister from Singapore. This decision comes after Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has resigned as Chancellor on 19th February this year, alleging that the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) did not want him to continue, a claim denied by the government.

▼ Dr. G. S. Reddy appointed scientific adviser to defence minister   [05-17-15]

GS Reddy is an eminent DRDO scientist known for leading the Medium Range Surface to Air Missile (MRSAM) programme.

▼ Dr. S. Christopher appointed DRDO Head   [05-17-15]

Christopher was presently Distinguished Scientist and Programme Director (airborne early warning and control system) and Director, Centre for Air-Borne Systems in the DRDO. He is known as the man behind the CABS AEW&C project.

▼ V. A. Prasanth appointed CFO of Indian Bank   [05-17-15]

Before this appointment, he was serving as the General Manager of the Indian Bank. V A Prasanth succeeded K Srinivasa Raghavan.

▼ P. K. Sinha appointed new Cabinet Secretary w.e.f 13thJune 2015   [05-17-15]

Mr Sinha was Secretary in Power Ministry since July 2013. He had earlier been Secretary in the Ministry of Shipping, and has held several other important positions at the Centre and Uttar Pradesh government. He succeeds Ajit Seth.

▼ Manoj Mishra appointed CMD of NFL   [05-17-15]

He is currently serving as the Director (Finance) at State Trading Corporation (STC).

▼ Lt. Gen Nirbhay Sharma appointed Mizoram governor on 26thMay, 2015   [05-17-15]

Former Arunachal Pradesh Governor Lt.Gen Nirbhay Sharma was sworn in as the new Governor of Mizoram. Guwahati High Court Judge Justice T Vaiphei administered him the oath of office at a solemn ceremony in Raj Bhawan Dubar Hall attended by Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla and his cabinet colleagues.

▼ New Defence Secretary G. Mohan Kumar appointed   [05-17-15]

Shri G Mohan Kumar took over as the new Defence Secretary, succeeding Shri RK Mathur, who laid down office on 24th May 15.

▼ A. K. Gupta appointed new Secretary of Defence Production   [05-17-15]

Shri Ashok Kumar Gupta, 1981batch-Tamilnadu Cadre was special secretary in the Department of Defence Production. He took over as the new Secretary, (Defence Production), succeeding Shri G Mohan Kumar.

▼ M&M MD Pawan Goenka appointed honorary ambassador for Korean trade body   [05-17-15]

He is Honorary Ambassador for Korea and will promote economic ties between India and Korea and advise corporate India on potential investment opportunities in South Korea.

▼ M. J. Joseph appointed Comptroller General of Accounts in Minister of Finance   [05-17-15]

He will succeed Jawahar Thakur. Earlier he was the as the Director General of the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS).

▼ Nikesh Arora appointed SoftBank Corp President   [05-14-15]

Indian-born Nikesh Arora was on 11 May 2015 appointed as the President of Japan’s multinational telecommunications and internet company SoftBank Corp. He succeeds Masayoshi Son, Chairman and CEO of the Softbank Corp.

▼ K. Satish Reddy appointed chief of Safety Council of India   [05-14-15]

Chairman of Dr Reddy’s Laboratories Ltd, K Satish Reddy, has been appointed as the new chairman of the National Safety Council (NSC). He will succeed Venu Srinivasan who steered the working of the council since July 2011.

▼ Dinesh Kumar appointed EPCH chairman   [05-14-15]

Mr. Kumar, representing M/s Orient Art &Crafts, New Delhi, is a leading exporter of handicrafts from India. He has been associated with the handicrafts sector for more than four decades. Mr. Kumar runs retail business of handicrafts products and has manufacturing units as well. He has served in various capacities as member of the Committee of Administration, President - Trade Fairs, and Vice-Chairman - EPCH. Mr. Kumar is also one of the Directors of India Exposition Mart Ltd., Greater Noida.

▼ Achal Kumar Jyoti appointed EC in May 2015   [05-14-15]

He is a Former Chief Secretary of Gujarat. He earlier worked as the Managing Director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Limited. He also served as chairman of Kandla Port Trust. With this appointment, the strength of three members Election Commission has now gone to two. In the coming days, the government will appoint one more Election Commissioner to fill up the last vacancy.

▼ Surender Singh appointed CISF chief   [05-13-15]

Surender Singh is a 1980-batch police officer of West Bengal Cadre, is at present serving as a Special Director in the Intelligence Bureau (IB) and will take over the new charge as incumbent Director General Arvind Ranjan retired on 30th Apr’15.

▼ Mukesh Khanna appointed CFSI chairman   [05-13-15]

He will succeed Amole Gupte. The appointment was made by Information and Broadcasting Ministry.