China reinforces the claim to AP

Q.  Which of the following are six places Chinese have given to places in AP, South Tibet?
- Published on 20 Apr 17

a. Wo'gyainling
b. Mila Ri
c. Namkapub Ri
d. All of the above

ANSWER: All of the above
China reinforces the claim to APChina has reinforced its claims to Arunachal Pradesh by naming six places in the state in standardised Chinese characters, Tibetan and Roman alphabet letters.

On April 14, China's Ministry of Civil Affairs announced on its website that the State Council - China’s cabinet had issued the new regulations.

The name of the six places in South Tibet - the name ascribed by Beijing to Arunachal Pradesh - are: Wo'gyainling, Mila Ri, Qoidêngarbo Ri, Mainquka, Bümo La and Namkapub Ri.

China criticised the Indian government’s approach to Dalai Lama activities in disputed eastern section of the India China boundary and also about his anti-China activities.

These activities are also against the Indian government’s commitments to China, Beijing held.

Naming the places is a step to reaffirm China's territorial sovereignty to South Tibet.

India was also questioning Beijing’s “one china policy,” the core of the country’s statehood.

MEA has made it absolutely clear that there is no change whatsoever in the Government of India’s policy towards the Tibet Autonomous Region.

Standardising the names from the angles of culture and geography could serve as a reference or leverage when China and India negotiate border issues in future.

Post your comment / Share knowledge

Enter the code shown above:
(Note: If you cannot read the numbers in the above image, reload the page to generate a new one.)