ICC - Current Affairs Questions and Answers

1)   Which team secured the top position in the ICC test rankings with 123 points in May 2017?

a. India
b. South Africa
c. Australia
d. West Indies
Answer  Explanation 


Indian cricket team has retained its top position in the latest ICC Test rankings with 123 points.

The Indian team is six points ahead of second placed South Africa. Australia has been placed at the third place with 100 points followed by England at 4th (99 points), New Zealand at 5th (97 points), Pakistan at 6th (93 points), Sri Lanka at 7th (91 points), West Indies at 8th (75 points), Bangladesh at 9th (69 points) and Zimbabwe at 10th with zero points.

While Indian and South African teams have improved their performance, Australia, England and Pakistan have made downward movements.

During recent matches, India registered series wins against West Indies last year and defeated New Zealand, England and Australia in home series.

Out of the total 13 matches played in India, the Indian team have registered 10 wins, 2 loses and one draw.

In the ICC ODI Championship Rankings, Indian team has been placed at third position after South Africa and Australia

In the ICC Twenty20 Championship Rankings, India occupies fourth position after New Zealand, England and Pakistan.

In the ICC Women’s Championships Rankings, Indian Women’s team is at fourth position after Australia, England and NewZealand.

2)   ICC has appointed whom as the official ambassador of the Women's Cricket World Cup 2017?

a. Sachin Tendulkar
b. Anil Kumble
c. Sunil Gavaskar
d. Rahul Dravid
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Sachin Tendulkar

International Cricket Council (ICC) has appointed Indian cricketing legend Sachin Tendulkar as the official ambassador of Women’s Cricket World Cup 2017.

The women’s World Cup is scheduled to be held in June 2017 at England and Wales.

The eight top cricketing countries locking horns to grab the coveted trophy.

The tournament will host 28 matches at five different venues with the final at Lord’s Stadium.

Women's World Cup Cricket 2017

  • Dates: 24 June – 23 July
  • Administrator(s): International Cricket Council
  • Cricket format: One Day International
  • Tournament format: Group stage and knockout
  • Host: England

3)   Who has been appointed ICC Cricket Committee  chairman for second time:

a. Rahul Dravid
b. Anil Kumble
c. Mahela Jayawardene
d. None of the above
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Anil Kumble

Former India captain Anil Kumble has been re-appointed ICC Cricket Committee chairman for a second term of three years while his one-time team-mate and batting great Rahul Dravid was named member of the top panel.

  • Kumble, the all-time highest wicket-taker for India, who was appointed as the chairman for his first term in 2012, will now continue to head the panel until 2018.
  • Meanwhile, another former India captain Dravid and ex-Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene have been appointed to the ICC Cricket Committee, adding even more cricketing experience to the list of eminent people already on the panel.
  • Jayawardene has been appointed as a past player representative and takes over from former Australia captain Mark Taylor, who has also completed his final three-year term.
  • Former Australia off-spinner and ex-Chief Executive of Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA), Tim May, has also been elected by the current Test captains as current player representative, replacing Laxman Sivaramakrishnan, who has completed his three-year term.
  • Three time ICC umpire of the year Richard Kettleborough has replaces Steve Davis who retired last year.

4)   Which cricket administrator has been elected as ICC”s first independent chairman?

a. Shashank Manohar
b. Jagmohan Dalmiya
c. Aniil Kumble
d. Ravi Shastri
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Shashank Manohar

Veteran cricket administrator Shashank Manohar has been elected unopposed as ICC’s first independent chairman, two days after he stepped down from the post of BCCI President.

  • The 58-year-old was elected to the post after the ICC Full Council’s approval of constitutional amendments proposed by the Board following its April meeting.
  • Manohar recently resigned as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, is the first elected independent Chairman of the game’s governing body and will commence his two-year term with immediate effect.
  • According to the election process, ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or past ICC director.
  • Nominees with the support of two or more Full Member directors would have been eligible to contest the election, which was scheduled to have been concluded by May 23.

5)   Name the ICC’s president whose resignation was accepted by the International Cricket Council in Apr- 15?

a. S Srinivasan
b. Mustafa Kamal
c. David Richardson
d. Greg Chappel
Answer  Explanation 

ANSWER: Mustafa Kamal

He quit the position after being denied the honour of presenting the World Cup winners' trophy. On 1st Apr’15 the ICC confirmed that Mr. Mustafa Kamal has tendered his resignation as the ICC President with immediate effect.