Sports - Current Affairs for January, 2015

Sports Current Affairs for January, 2015

Month wise coverage of Sports Current Affairs helps you improve your general knowledge and prepare for all competitive exams like IBPS, Bank PO, SBI PO, RRB, RBI, LIC, Specialist Officer, Clerk, SSC, UPSC, Railway etc. This section is updated daily with the most important events.

Preparing Sports Current Affairs January, 2015

1. Read the most important Sports Current affairs and facts here. 2. Take practice test of our Sports MCQ and Objective type questions. 3. Clear any quiz, GK, job interview or competitive exam on current affairs.
  • Month & Year   
▼ Kumar Sangakarra breaks wicket taking record in ODI   [01-23-15]

He achieved his 473rd dismissal in ODIs when he caught Corey Anderson in the final ODI against New Zealand that was played at Wellington.

▼ 2016 Summer Olympic Games venue- Rio De Janeiro Brazil   [01-23-15]

It will be the first time a South American and Lusophone city will host the event.

▼ India to hold ICC T-20 World Cup 2016   [01-23-15]

In the year 2016, it will be the 6th edition of T-20 World Cup.

▼ Mohammad Amir cleared to return to cricket after match fixing   [01-23-15]

Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir were handed bans in February 2011. Mohd. Amir's ban was due to expire on 2 September, 2015 but he has been cleared to play domestic cricket in Pakistan.

▼ Sean Abott wins Australia's Young Cricketer of the Year award 2015   [01-23-15]

Australian’s Young Cricketer of the year is also known as Bradman Award.

▼ ICC and Reliance Communications launch ICC Cricket World Cup App 2015   [01-23-15]

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, the 11th edition of cricket's flagship event, gets underway on 14th February.

▼ Indian athlete O. P. Jaisha breaks 19 year old national record   [01-22-15]

She clocked 2:37:29 in her maiden marathon run and stood fist in the Indian women athlete category of full marathon. In Indian men’s section none of the Indian male runners could attain the AFI-set qualifying standard of 2:18.

▼ Petra Kvitova wins Women's Singles Final of Sydney International Tournament 2015   [01-22-15]

She won the title defeating Karolina Pliskova of Czech Republic.

▼ Parupali Kashyap wins Men's Singles title at Sued Modi Grand Prix Gold Badminton Tournament 2015   [01-23-15]

P. Kashyap defeated Kidambi Srikanth in the Men’s Single title.

▼ Saina Nehwal wins Women's Singles title at Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold Badminton Tournament 2015   [01-23-15]

She beat the reigning world champion Carolina Marin of Spain at Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, Lucknow.

▼ Andreas Seppi Defeats Federer in Australian Open 2015   [01-23-15]

It was the Italian player Seppi’s first win against Federer in 11 matches.

▼ Syed Modi International Badminton Championships held in UP in 2015   [01-22-15]

Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Srikanth K. and P. Kashyap were among the 14 Indian shuttlers who have advanced to the Singles pre-quarterfinals of the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

▼ Mattek-Sands and Sania Mirza win Women's Double's Finals in Apia International Tournament 2015   [01-22-15]

Sania Mirza has equalled her career-best doubles rank of five today, following her stupendous title win at the WTA Apia International with Bethanie Mattek-Sands in Sydney.

▼ Two time coach of Indian football team appointed on 16thJanuary 2015- Stephen Constantine   [01-22-15]

Constantine was India coach from 2002 till 2005, during which the national team won the LG Cup in Vietnam and finished runners-up in the Afro Asian Games.

▼ Anirban Laheri voted as Asian Tour Player 2014   [01-22-15]

Premier Indian golfer Anirban Lahiri on 12th Jan’15 voted the 2014 Players’ Player of the Year for his successful exploits on the Asian Tour where he won two titles and finished second on the Order of Merit.

▼ Indian swimmer Bhakti Sharma sets new world record swimming in 1 degree temperature water   [01-22-15]

She bettered the earlier record of British open water swimmer Lewis Pugh and American swimmer Lynne Cox. The 24-year old is now the first Asian girl and youngest in the world to have achieved this feat.

▼ Australian bowler Brett Lee retires from cricket on 15thJanuary 2015   [01-22-15]

He quit internationals in July 2012 as his country's fourth-highest Test wicket-taker - with 310 in 76 matches - and has focused on Twenty20 cricket in recent years.

▼ Joachim Loew named Coach of the Year at Balloon d'Or Awards   [01-22-15]

He is a Coach of Germany Football Team.

▼ Brisbane International 2015 Title winner is Maria Sharapova   [01-22-15]

Maria Sharapova claimed her 34th career title and closed the gap on the No. 1 ranking with win over Ana Ivanovic on in the Brisbane International final.

▼ West Indies Scores highest run chase in T-20 on 11thJanuary 2015   [01-22-15]

West Indies completed the highest run chase in Twenty20 history as they beat South Africa by four wickets in a thrilling game in Johannesburg.

▼ Cristiano Ronaldo- Winner of the Balloon D'Or Award 2014   [01-22-15]

Christiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player in the world for the third time following previous wins in 2008 and 2013, while Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler has claimed her first-ever FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award.

▼ Heavyweight Boxer Joe Frazer- Date of Birth and Bout with Thrilla in Manilla   [01-22-15]

Joe Frazier. He was born in Jan’12, 1944.